Scientific Advisory Committee

Our Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) advises on technical and research activities. Appointed from across the malaria and broader scientific research community, SAC members have significant expertise in the discipline of each of WWARN’s Scientific Groups.

Scientific Advisory Commitee (SAC) members provide advice on specific scientific priorities and approaches; they help us to ensure a useful balance and scope of scientific activities, and they support us to promote collaboration with other organisations that are relevant to WWARN’s work.

The SAC meets up to four times each year: usually twice in person at the WWARN annual meeting, a second time in conjunction with an international scientific conference, such as the ASTMH in the USA, and twice virtually. In addition to these meetings SAC members often support sub-committees or working groups for specific research projects.

Professor Arjen Dondorp
Head of Malaria Research
Mahidol Oxford Research Unit (MORU)
Professor Bernhards Ogutu
Chief Research Officer
Dr Corine Karema
Malaria expert
Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute, Basel, Switzerland
Professor Halidou Tinto
IRSS Nanoro
Professor Jonathan Juliano
Associate Professor of Medicine
University of North Carolina School of Medicine
Professor Leon Aarons
Professor in Manchester Pharmacy School
University of Manchester
Professor Marcus Lacerda
Associate Professor
Universidade do Estado do Amazonas, Brazil
Professor Philip Rosenthal
Professor in Pediatrics
UCSF School of Medicine